top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureE

A Merry Message


Not a full blog this week as no doubt you are all rushing around getting ready for the festive season. So instead just a small message from me to wish you a very Merry Christmas and a couple of things about this time of the year I wanted to share.


Firstly a huge thanks to all of you for reading each blog, over 1500 hits already is really wonderful and I’ve been humbled by all of your responses. It is exactly what I wanted to happen, striking up conversations with old friends and making new friends about what running is to you. So thank you for that.


Secondly a general note about Christmas. It can be a really hard time if you are struggling with life a little bit. There is a lot of pressure on this whole period to be the epitome of Christmas cheer and festive fun. When you name something, ‘the most wonderful time of the year’ there instantly becomes an enormous stress to make it just that. The expectation of being happy, jolly and making the holidays the absolute best ever, is one hell of a load. It needn’t be like this as that strain can act as the catalyst that sends you over the edge into complete despair. This Christmas take a bit of time to yourself, you don’t have to participate in every round of Pictionary (other board games are available ;) ), it’s ok to get stuck into your new book. Be kind to yourself folks, people are a lot more understanding and receptive to the truth than you may think.


Merry Christmas to you all. (Don't worry I won't give up my teaching career to start photo-shopping pictures anytime soon!)

Lastly at Christmas I have found that arunning is often branded unacceptable, strange and anti-social. I used to find this situation really hard to manage, but over the years I’ve realised that actually I need to schill a little bit and top caring what others think about as ‘normal behaviour’ over the Christmas period and enjoy it my way. That means relaxing with a long run, my family and some board games. You certinaly don't need to be running pb's over Christmas time, or counting the miles. It's a time to relax. Now, I amsomeone who loves a routine and the panic due to irregularity during the holidays is real, and I find it mightly hard to 'relax'. I get massively anxious when I don’t have a plan. Regularity and familiarity have become so important to me over the years as they help me deal with things that I find difficult. If you are the same then my advice is start by creating a rough plan for the holidays, but really push yourself to be as flexible and free wheeling as you possibly can be. Do share share your plan with your family and tweak it together so that it works for you all. Let them know that you awould like to run on certain days, at certain times and see if it clashes with anyone else’s plans so you can re-arrange. This has worked really well for me, as I then coordinate a run with the boys going out for a cycle, or the mums going over to friends for drinks, or just when everyone else wants some down time. Again, people are a lot more understanding and receptive than you may think.


So go and enjoy your Christmas your way, don't count the miles, don't expect a PB. Spend your time with your loved ones and involve them in your plans, maybe ask them if they want to come with you. Do spend your time on the trails but not as a chore, as something you genuinely get enjoyment from.


Nadolig Llawen


See you on the trails soon


E


X

bottom of page