top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureE

Don't kill my vibe

Updated: Nov 30, 2018

Having come from the sport of road cycling, where around every corner there is often a situation that makes you curse – o sure that pedestrian just stepped out in to the road, I’ll just swerve into on coming traffic to avoid you, *expletive*, of course that lorry just overtook me and immediately turned left, quick slam on the brakes and hope for the best *expletive *, why wouldn’t that car give me more than 10cm clearance when over taking me at 50mph, that seems conscientious, *expletive *. The sport of trail running is for the most part a tranquil adventure through the most beautifully undisturbed parts of the country. However there are a few nuances that can cause a mini rage inside our minds and threaten to kill our vibe. These irritants are never enough to make me fear for my life, – like road cycling – but sometimes they do send me into deep despair.


In this weeks blog I’ll have a look at some of the things that aggravate us all on the trails but to keep the tone light I’ll be adding in some of my own more humorous trail grievances that threaten to kill my vibe. Yes, that staple gun is going to have to make an appearance on the list.


Firstly, one irritant that popped up more than any other was that of litter on the trails. The trails that I have run, reccied and raced have been in the most glorious parts of the UK, and these trails are often protected by National Park or Areas of Natural Outstanding Beauty authorities. The fact the there are other trail users who have a complete disregard for this beauty by leaving litter, upsets me. On the Isle of Wight I saw a young family finish their picnic, walk back to their car and drive away, leaving all wrappers, cartons and plastic bags next to the coastal path. Whilst route laying in Surrey we came across a clearing that was filled with a couple of tons of fly tipped waste. Whilst racing in the New Forest I was shocked to see other competitors throwing empty gel packet into the hedgerows.


Littering is a problem, but what is the solution? We can set the best example we can. As individuals we can politely challenge people who drop litter or even pick up a piece that crosses our path, every little helps.


Secondly, an irritant that popped up more than once was who us trail runners share the trails with - dog walkers, cyclists and horse riders being a few of these. As a very keen cyclist and dog lover myself, do not think for a second that I am taking a trail runner high ground. We all love the outdoors, we all are having our own adventure and we all have an equal right to be there. What we need is to have respect for one another, show common decency and be kind. Say hi, move out the way to those moving faster, say please and say thank you. Nothing on your run is too important that you can’t stop to say hi, hold a gate open, or shout ‘have a great ride’. They may think you’re bonkers, but I guarantee it will make a difference.


There is however one thing that needs to be stamped out, and that is dogs that jump up / chase trail runners. I have been chased and I know trail runners and cyclists who have been bitten by dogs out on the trails. This is unacceptable. Dog owners quickly become very defensive and I have never had a dog owner apologise for a mis-behaved dog. In this situation as scary as it might be, I always stop running, stand still, unplug my headphones and say nothing. A dog quickly loses interest when the ‘play toy’ is a boring, stationary, mute object. But dog owners, please take responsibility. Also I won't dwell on this because it's just so obvious in my mind, but pick up your dogs poo or flick it off the path. What ever you do, do not put it in a bag and hang it off a branch and expect the 'poo fairy' to clear it away. You are the worst type of people.


Third, a few of my own personal gripes that I don't understand when I hear; the course was too muddy, the route was too wet, my watch measured 14.98km and you said it was 15km, My trainers are still wet what are you going to do about that? O, so you’re not running today then? I shall now answer some of these…


Route laying. On the event day alone I covered over 30km, with THAT rucksack and staple gun. I was also out on the trails for over 8 hours due to Marshalling a course split and manning an outpost. So no... I didn't have time to race the event as well.

  • Too muddy and wet - You are in the wrong sport friend.

  • Distance not to a whole number – we absolutely hate ‘out and backs’ simply to make a certain ‘standard’ distance happen on your watch. The trails are the trails, enjoy them.

  • Wet Trainers – Stuff them with newspaper, don’t moan to me.

  • Event workers not running – If you saw my recent insta story you will realize why we do not race. We are out in that field from sunrise to well beyond sunset. We go out on the course multiple times, laying, checking and collecting. We set-up and pack down. We register you all and calculate your results. On race days it often gets to 7pm and realize we haven’t been for that wee that we were so desperate for at 1pm. So no, we do not race. Not because we don’t want to, but because I had a 15kg rucksack full of signs with a staple gun strapped smacking my waist whilst I ran and I'm tired now.


Fourthly, this irritant goes to the farmers who have trails through their land and go out of their way to make it very difficult to follow those trails. Not only is this extremely frustrating it is also really dangerous. I have followed trails through land where the signage either stops, or is completely contradicting. Luckily technology has managed to get me out of a tight spot, but it can be scary.


I have also followed trails through land where farmers have locked gates and even put out concealed barbed wire as a deterrent to trail users. One particular memory stands out from running in the New Forest this summer. I was following the sign posts religiously when all of a sudden they came to a stop. I could see the next sign post the other side of a farmers holding and when checking OS maps it was clear the route went through the middle. I climbed the locked gate and trotted through. SMACK I landed flat on my face. I looked down and my right foot was caught up in a mesh of concealed barbed wire. I was really shaken up and when I looked down, there was the same barbed wire carpeting the whole ‘path’ up until the next signpost. I vouched never to run that route again, which infuriated me further because that’s exactly what that farmer wanted.



Barbed wire out on the footpaths in a particular farmers holding in the New Forest. This farmer is known locally for being actively 'discouraging' of any type of trail user using the public right of way that goes through their land.


The more appropriate solution here is to continue to run the trails and treat them as if they were your own. Be sure to close every gate, be sure to not leave one scrap of litter / food / clothing behind. Also stop and say hi. If you see a farmer, no matter how grumpy they may appear, take the time to say hi, comment on the weather and then trot along.


Finally. The last gripe I have about trail running is that many people think that it is exclusively for the lean, tattooed, bearded, trucker hat wearing individuals. People think you have to be an equipment laden, adventurer with a background in map reading, extreme pursuits, prefer sleeping in a bivvy than a bed and run a minimum of 30km on every single run.


Wrong. You are so wrong. Trail running is accessible to everyone, especially in the UK. Trail running is simply running on any terrain that is not the road. You can be, a 'bearded bear' or a 'dainty princess' and still enjoy trail running (you can decide for yourself who is who). You can enjoy the great outdoors, getting muddy, but still have a certain affinity for sparkly hair bands and fluffy slippers. You do not have to run mile after mile, you just have to get out there and give it a go. You do not need all the kit, you just need enough to be safe (see lasts weeks post). You do not have to have a Gold Duke of Edinburgh award to navigate and you definitely do not have to be lean, have tattoos, or wear a trucker cap. You just have to be you. You are great and I guarantee that if you give trail running a chance you will realize what an amazingly inclusive and friendly sport it is. Even if we do moan about things every now and then.


Not a beard, tattoo or trucker hat in sight and you know what... I'm still a Trail Runner. Happy to share the trails with four legged and two wheeled friends. Just take the time, say hi and be kind to one another. There's enough 'outdoors' for everyone and more than enough adventure to share around.

See you all on the trails soon.


Happy Running.


E

bottom of page