top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureE

That first race.

Since it’s the very first week of e.runs.this ‘the blog’, I want to share with you the experiences, lessons and shortcomings from my very first trail race. To show you all that everybody starts somewhere and often that ‘somewhere’ is a nervous car journey to the start line, multiple pre-race trips to the toilet and a complete absence of any form of confidence. However by the end of reading this, I hope you all realize that when you find joy in something your absolute ‘skill’ level is completely insignificant and that passion alone will bring you back time and time again.


Saturday 1stOctober 2016, I jumped in the car by myself to head over to Herefordshire for my first Maverick race. I entered the race on the Wednesday before and then headed to Sports Direct on the Thursday to buy something resembling a trail shoe. A strict budget of £35 bought me two shoes (a left and a right), these would quickly become one and half shoes by the end of my second trail race in the Yorkshire Dales. I’ll cover essential kit another time.


Pulling into the car-park it seemed that everybody had more kit than me, even the dogs. Everyone had fancy watches, hydration packs, compression socks, colourful buffs and soft shell jackets. I was in an old baselayer, a pair of gym shorts, and certainly no sports watch. I very nearly didn’t get out the car. The only reason I did was because I needed the toilet so badly I didn’t have a choice.


Toilet done, I grabbed my number for the long route, - a distance of 25km that I had never run before – and then proceeded to avoid all eye contact in an all-embracing fear of being the amateur amongst all of these ‘pro’s’. I didn’t hear a word of the race briefing because I placed myself right at the back of the field amongst the many howling dogs belonging to cani-cross runners.



That first race - No fancy kit, no form, no strength, and for some reason I thought elastic laces would be a good idea. They were NOT a good idea, as even a slight bit of sticky mud and your shoe is left 5 paces behind you. From this photo onwards my trail running technique, strength and love has just continued to grow and for that I am always grateful for this picture. It reminds me where I started.

The race itself, I quickly found myself alone until half way where at 13km I came up behind two men. One in a blue jacket and one in a red vest . Mr. Blue turned to Mr. Red in complete shock, before blurting out, ‘What are you doing here?’ I took this very literally and replied ‘I’m running, just like you.’ I over took Mr. Blue and Mr. Red and thought about that question for a while. What was I doing there? Was I doing it wrong, was I doing it right, was it that obvious that I was a newbie? If I’m honest I don’t remember much about the route, there were hills, there was mud … but I do remember the way it made me feel. I felt free. I felt excited. I felt challenged.


I crossed the finish line and all the doubt and pointless answers to Mr. Blue’s question immediately left me as I was overcome with a sense of achievement. I got handed a medal and started to head back to the car. At this point Mr. Blue crossed the finish line and immediately headed in my direction to shake my hand, say congratulations and say that he didn’t mean anything by his comment, apart from being genuinely impressed. Turns out him and Mr. Red were in the lead which meant I had won the race. He ushered me back to meet the race directors…


That first race - Mr. Blue took this photo for me at the end of my first race trail race. I had no clue what was going on, I felt like a complete amateur, but it lit a spark that kept me coming back for more.

The race directors… two athletic, bearded men, in trucker hats, covered in tattoos, yes I am talking about Ben and Justin. I became a babbling mess. I tried to explain that I think I had won, but in the end Mr. Blue did all the talking. I walked away from the situation feeling like a right moron and I’m pretty sure Ben and Justin thought I was an absolute weirdo. Little did they know they wouldn’t be able to shake me off from that point on. We laugh about it now, especially if I have a bit of a ‘diva’ moment. As on that first meeting, I could barely speak due to the terror of it all.


I then jumped back in my car and started to drive home. On the way out of the car park other runners and their flocks of fans waved at me as I left. It was amazing. It was all so friendly and I felt an instantly warmth to trails and realized just how mistaken I had been at the start of that day. I had seriously misjudged the situation.


Not everyone had all that fancy kit; I was just seeing what I wanted to see. Not everybody was a pro; they were their to enjoy the outdoors. And no one was judging me; they were all either indifferent to my arrival, or supportive in my success.


So, if you’re pondering about your first trail race, or maybe you’re upping the challenge level of your trail racing the overwhelming advise is, GET OUT OF THE CAR. Don't worry about 'what you're doing there'. In the nicest way possible, nobody else cares about your kit or your performance. You are your only critic! Everyone will either be super positive that you’ve given it a go or unconcerned about your efforts. And please, if you see someone alone at an event, just a simple wave is enough to light that spark.


E

@e.runs.this


p.s. I now know Mr. Blue very well as he is a frequent runner at Maverick events. We always laugh about that very first event in Herefordshire, and we often greet each other by asking each other in unison, ‘what are you doing here?’.

bottom of page